Spanish & Eskimo Punches: Joey & Nikki bring it all and their wonderful relationship to the mountains in an Evergreen, Colorado Engagement.

I have to start here. Joey and Nikki rock my socks off. I could Mic drop after that, they are just so awesome! Let me tell you a little bit about them…

They met while in a spanish undergrad course, shortly before they were both leaving for OPPOSITE sides of the globe to study abroad with their language studies. He went to Peru, She went to Spain. Yet, they chose each other still, in the midst of their adventures. And adventure is a great describer for these two!ย They’ve lived in Jackson Hole, WY to do the ski thing, traversed the Colorado Mountains together, and supported one another through major life stuff…like Law school and career building.

When they told me their engagement story, I had to laugh. On a weekend away in the Maroon Bells area, Joey was looking for the perfect spot for them to sit, enjoy, and, though Nikki didn’t know it, propose. But when I say looking for the perfect spot, I mean looking for the perfect spot. Avoiding construction to find the perfect view meant even returning for the hotel bell boy to help nail them their sunset perch. When they did get settled… she said yes. ๐Ÿ˜‰

One of the things that I so enjoy about these two is how grounded they are in themselves and each other. There are awesome things about them I kept discovering while we had their engagement photography session at Elk Meadows in Evergreen, CO. For example…as Joey leaned into Nikki for me to snap a shot, I asked him to give her Eskimo kisses. Sometime I get a sweet little giggle at this, but they both started laughing much harder than I expected. I was then informed that they do Eskimo punches, not kisses! That, my friends, is how awesome they are!!! Check them out and see how much you’re smiling by the end!

*No noses were harmed in the making of these photographs. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Joey&NikkiEngagement2017-4
Meet Joey & Nikki.
Joey&NikkiEngagement2017-18
Wildflowers? Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes…

Joey&NikkiEngagement2017-22Joey&NikkiEngagement2017-3Joey&NikkiEngagement2017-20Joey&NikkiEngagement2017-7

Joey&NikkiEngagement2017-12
oh man, so pretty…
Joey&NikkiEngagement2017-23
Eskimo Punches!!!! (They’ve popped up in mine and Steven’s marriage now, you two)
Joey&NikkiEngagement2017-26
She is stunning!!! I asked Joey some of the things that first attracted him to her when they first met when we had our original consult, and he said “Just look at her!” Agreed.

Joey&NikkiEngagement2017-28Joey&NikkiEngagement2017-27Joey&NikkiEngagement2017-30

Joey&NikkiEngagement2017-32
One of my favorite things about engagement photography is getting these glimpses into his love for her. There’s always a moment with every couple, I treasure it.
Joey&NikkiEngagement2017BW-32
So you have to see it in black and white too. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Joey&NikkiEngagement2017-33Joey&NikkiEngagement2017-37

Joey&NikkiEngagement2017-36
We had an epic dipping session!

Joey&NikkiEngagement2017-39

Joey&NikkiEngagement2017-42
And at the end of our session…the sky started to turn.
Joey&NikkiEngagement-1PS
Sunset Engagement photography? Mmmm, it’s the cherry on top to an amazing evening! Congrats, Joey & Nikki, I’m honored to be a part of your wedding journey!
One thought on “Spanish & Eskimo Punches: Joey & Nikki bring it all and their wonderful relationship to the mountains in an Evergreen, Colorado Engagement.

Leave a Reply

